تاريخ كافيه رويال Café© Royal

 شهد عام 1863 وصول تاجر نبيذ فرنسي يُدعى "دانيال نيقولا تيڤينون" وزوجته السيدة "سيليستين" إلى انجلترا آملاً في الهروب من قبضة الدائنين في باريس. وهنا بدأت قصة انطلقت من الإفلاس وانتهت بتأسيس كافيه رويال الذي صار أسطورة من أساطير لندن.


دانيال نيقولا تيفينون

 أحال دانيال نيقولا تيفينون اسمه إلى الإنجليزية ليصير "دانيال نيكولز". ونجح خلال بضعة أعوام في وضع تصور للمكان وتأسيسه على شارع ريجنت بلندن وأطلق عليه اسم كافيه رويال. وكان لدانيال وسيليستين زوج ابنة يعود إليه الفضل في الانتقال بهذا النشاط التجاري العائلي إلى آفاق جديدة. وبنهاية القرن، اشتهر كافيه رويال كصرح متميز بمعنى الكلمة وله طابع أصيل، كما تم تجهيزه بما كان يُعد في يوم من الأيام أكبر مخزن للنبيذ في العالم.

أكبر مخزن للنبيذ في العالم

 في بداية مسيرة الفندق، أرسل "دانيال نيقولا" في طلب ابن عمه "يوجين ديلاكوست" من بيرغندي. وكان "ديلاكوست" ذائع الصيت كخبير في انتقاء أطيب المذاقات، وجمع ما بين عشقه بحاسة التذوق المثلى لديه لانتقال كل زجاجة من مخزن النبيذ في كافيه رويال. وكان ذلك المخزن المشيّد بكل عناية يحظى بشهرة ذائعة الصيت في وقت من الأوقات باعتباره الأضخم حجمًا في العالم.

ومع احتفائه بتاريخ كافيه رويال العريق، فإن الفندق يستمر في تقديم قائمة متميزة تضم نخبة منتقاة من أنواع النبيذ من قارات العالم القديمة والجديدة، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على المناطق الفرنسية.

شارع ريجنت

 يعود الفضل في وضع تصور شارع ريجنت (Regent Street) إلى "جون ناش" في مطلع القرن التاسع عشر، ويتمتع الشارع بتصميم موحّد على عكس العادة في لندن. وكانت بدايته على شكل جادة تحمل الطابع الغريغوري وكانت تحمل في البداية اسم "نيو ستريت" أو الشارع الجديد، وكان مخصصًا للأمير ريجنت الذي تحول اسمه لاحقًا إلى جورج الرابع. وعندما تم افتتاح كافيه رويال في الطرف الجنوبي من ذلك الشارع في عام 1865، كانت الواجهة الشهيرة في وقتنا الحالي الممتدة بعرض الشارع والمؤلفة من صف من الأعمدة وفقًا لتصميم "ناش" لا تزال غريبة بعض الشيء آنذاك، ولا تزال طابعًا مميزًا في قلب لندن.

وعلى مر العصور، أصبح كافيه رويال بؤرة الأناقة في لندن. ومن خلال الترحيب برواده من المشاهير، من أفراد العائلات الملكية وحتى نجوم المجتمع، بمن فيهم أصحاب المواهب الإبداعية وأصحاب الشهرة غير المألوفة، فقد ظل الفندق علامة عريقة ومتميزة في المشهد الاجتماعي بالعاصمة لأكثر من قرن من الزمان.


ملتقى العقول اللامعة لمناقشة الأفكار اللامعة

 لما كان الفندق مقصدًا يرتاده الكتّاب والفنانون من عينة "أوسكار وايلد" و"أوبري بيردسلي"، فقد كانت المناقشات والحوارات وفيوض الإلهام في "ذا كافيه" على قدر من العمق. وتضم قائمة الرواد "آرثر كونان دويل" و"إتش جي ويلز" و"جورج برنارد شو" و"روديارد كيبلنغ" و"دابليو بي ييتس" و"وولتر سيكيرت" و"جيمس ماكنيل ويسلر".

كما شوهدت في نفس المكان شخصيات مرموقة من عينة "وينستون تشرشل" و"أغسطس جون" و"دي إتش لورانس" و"فرجينيا وولف" و"نويل كاورد" و"جيكوب إيبستين" و"غراهام غرين".

من نجوم موسيقى الروك وحتى أفراد العائلات الملكية

 تردد أفراد الأسر الملكية بدورهم على المكان، ومن بينهم أمير ويلز الذي تخلى عن العرش في وقت لاحق تحت اسم "إدوارد الثامن" للزواج من السيدة "سيمبسون"، ودوق يورك الذي أصبح اسمه لاحقًا "جورج السادس" والذي غالبًا ما كان يتناول غداءه في "ذا كافيه"، وهي العادة التي درجت عليها في وقتٍ لاحق الليدي "ديانا" أميرة ويلز.

واستمر سحر "ذا كافيه" الجاذب حتى أواسط القرن العشرين. ولم يخلُ الروتين اليومي لـ "ذا كافيه" من السحر المثير للنجمة "بريجيت باردو"، والموعد الغرامي للفنانة الغالية "إليزابيث تيلور" مع "ريتشارد بيرتون"، والزيارات التي لا تُنسى لمشاهير الموسيقى والرياضة على شاكلة "لويس آرمسترونغ" و"محمد علي كلاي".

وفي عام 1973، أحال النجم "ديفيد بويي" إلى التقاعد شخصيته القرينة "زيغي ستار داست" في حفل مليء بالنجوم تحت مسمى "العشاء الأخير". واشتملت قائمة الزوار على أكبر نجوم الروك في ذلك الوقت، من أمثال "مايك جاغر" و"لو ريد" وغيرهما من الكثيرين.

الملاكمة

 في عام 1951 استضاف "كافيه رويال" النادي الرياضي الوطني، حيث استضاف حفلات عشاء رسمية قبل مواعيد ازدحام المباريات، وغالبًا ما كان يتردد عليه محمد علي كلاي. وكان المؤسسان الأصليان للنادي الرياضي الوطني وهما إيرل لوندسديل والماركيز الخامس لكوينزبيري قد حددا مجموعة قواعد الملاكمة في هذا المكان في عام 1867 تحت مسمى "قواعد كوينزبيري للملاكمة".

وبفضل دور مركز آكاشا للمعالجات الصحية الشاملة كموطن روحي للملاكمة وفي محاولة للتصديق على تاريخ فندق كافيه رويال، فإنه يقدم جلسات تدريبات فردية (Box Fit) أو جماعية (Fight Club).

  • The SET
  • Hotel Cafe Royal - London
  • Conservatorium - Amsterdam
  • Lutetia - Paris
تسجيل الوصول تسجيل المغادرة
1 غرفة، 2 البالغون
حجز الآن ضمان بالتمتع بأفضل الأسعار
البالغون الأطفال
غرفة
اتصال
حجز إقامة
عرض الخريطة
إغلاق

Historic Café Royal

In 1863, a French wine merchant called Daniel Nicholas Thévenon and his wife Celestine arrived in England in a bid to escape the clutches of creditors in Paris. So began a story that grew out of bankruptcy and culminated in the creation of Café Royal, a London legend.


Daniel Nicholas Thévenon

Daniel Nicholas Thévenon anglicised his name to Daniel Nicols. Within a couple of years he had conceived and established the place on London’s Regent Street he called the Café Royal. Daniel and Celestine had a son-in-law and it was he who took the family business to new heights. By the end of the century the Café Royal was renowned as a truly remarkable and original establishment with what was considered at one point to have the greatest wine cellar in the world.

The greatest wine cellar in the world

Early in its history, Daniel Nicholas sent for his cousin, Eugène Delacoste, from Burgundy. Delacoste had a reputation as an expert in selecting the best appellations and combined his passion with his impeccable palate to handpick each bottle for Café Royal’s wine cellar. This carefully built cellar was, at one point, widely recognised to be the greatest in the world.

Paying homage to the Café Royal’s history, the hotel continues to offer an exceptional list featuring a selection of wines from both the old and new world, with particular focus on French regions.

Regent Street

Conceived by John Nash in the early 1800’s, Regent Street has a unified design, unusual for London. Originally called New Street, the Georgian thoroughfare was dedicated to the Prince Regent, who later became George IV. When the Café Royal opened at its southern end in 1865, the now famous sweeping, colonnaded Nash terrace was still relatively novel and continues to be a signature feature in central London. 

Throughout the ages, Café Royal was the epicentre of fashionable London. Welcoming famed patrons, from royalty and celebrity, to the creative and the notorious, it has been an established and iconic landmark on the capital’s social scene, for over a century. 


Where great minds come to discuss great ideas

Frequented by writers and artists such as Oscar Wilde and Aubrey Beardsley, the conversations, inspirations and discussions at ‘The Café’ were profound. Arthur Conan Doyle, H G Wells, George Bernard Shaw, Rudyard Kipling, W B Yeats, Walter Sickert and James McNeill Whistler were all patrons.

Distinguished figures such as Winston Churchill, Augustus John, D H Lawrence, Virginia Woolf, Noël Coward, Jacob Epstein and Graham Greene were also often seen.

From rock stars to royalty

Royalty also took to the place, and the Prince of Wales, later to abdicate as Edward VIII in order to marry Mrs Simpson, and The Duke of York, later to become George VI, often took lunch at ‘The Café’, as latterly did Diana, Princess of Wales.

The magnetic appeal of ‘The Café' continued into the mid-20th century. The sexy charm of Brigitte Bardot, the romantic date of the bejewelled Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton and unforgettable visits of music and sports celebrities such as Louis Armstrong and Muhammad Ali were all part of ‘The Café’ routine.

In 1973 David Bowie famously retired his alter ego, Ziggy Stardust, with a star studded party, dubbed ‘The Last Supper’. Guests included the biggest rock stars of the time, such as Mick Jagger, Lou Reed and many others.

Boxing

In 1951 Café Royal became the home of the National Sporting Club, holding black tie dinners before bouts often frequented by Muhammad Ali. The original National Sporting Club founders, the Earl of Lonsdale and the fifth Marquis of Queensberry also laid down their set of boxing rules, ‘The Queensberry Rules for Boxing’ here in 1867.

As the spiritual home of boxing and as a nod to this profound heritage, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre offers Box Fit and Fight Club one-to-one or group classes.

 

  • The SET
  • Hotel Cafe Royal - London
  • Lutetia - Paris
  • Conservatorium - Amsterdam
  • Lutetia - Paris
Check In Check Out
1 Room, 2 Adults
Book Now Best Rate Guaranteed
Adults Children
Room
Call
Book a Stay
View map